Text+ red circle

Text+ Abstract

Text+ focuses on text- and language-based research data with a special emphasis on Digital Collections, Lexical Resources (incl. dictionaries) and Editions. These three data domains have a long tradition in Humanities research and have given rise to mature methodological paradigms that require distinctive, yet cross-cutting practices of research data creation, curation and management. The three types of research data are crucial for a wide range of Humanities disciplines, including, but not limited to, Linguistics, Literary Studies, Cultural Studies, History, Philosophy, and language-based and text-based research in the Social and Political Sciences.

The Text+ institutions jointly represent most, if not all relevant stakeholders that contribute research data in the Humanities: research libraries, universities, Digital Humanities data centres, members of the Union of German Academies of Arts and Sciences, and members of non-university research organisations, including Leibniz Institutes and Max-Planck Institutes. The Text+ initiative includes major computing centres that will ensure strong and persistent infrastructure services for a distributed research data infrastructure. All Text+ institutions provide substantial in-kind contributions, thereby signalling their strong support for Text+. Support from the communities of interest is documented by the large number of participants and of supporting parties.

The governance model of Text+ fosters joint responsibility and consensus building among infrastructure providers and infrastructure users as well as collaboration across disciplinary boundaries. At the core of this governance model, three Scientific Coordination Committees and one Operations Coordination Committee will continuously evaluate the Text+ portfolio of data, tools, and services and will be instrumental in extending the Text+ portfolio in line with priorities set by the communities of interest.

Text+ maintains close ties with relevant international initiatives so as to benefit from mutual synergies and to help shape major initiatives such as EOSC, EUDAT, OpenAire, and RDA.

The research data management strategy of Text+ is the guideline and the core instrument to implement the main objectives of Text+ and to achieve the aims of the NFDI programme. The RDM strategy defines the fundamental path towards the integration of data, applications, tools, and services into a standards-based infrastructure adhering to FAIR principles, and it describes processes to maintain and evolve this infrastructure.

The work programme of Text+ is divided into five task areas: the task area Administration, one task area for each of the three data domains, as well as the task area Infrastructure/Operations, whose measures closely interact with the measures in the three data domains. More specifically, this close cooperation is realised by three types of cross-cutting measures concerning community, data, and software services.

Text+ red circle

Text+ in der Zusammenfassung

Text+ beabsichtigt den Aufbau einer auf Text- und Sprachdaten ausgerichteten Forschungsdateninfrastruktur, die sich speziell auf digitale Sammlungen, lexikalische Ressourcen (einschl. Wörterbücher) und Editionen konzentriert. Diese Datenbereiche haben eine lange Tradition in der geisteswissenschaftlichen Forschung. Sie sind mit ausgereiften methodologischen Paradigmen verknüpft, die jeweils charakteristische, aber auch bereichsübergreifende Praktiken der Datenerzeugung, der Datenkuratierung und des Datenmanagements erfordern. Sie sind unabdingbar für eine breite Palette von Fachdisziplinen, u. a. für die Sprach-, Literatur-, Kultur- und die Geschichtswissenschaften, sowie für die Philosophie und für die sprach- und textbasierte Forschung in den Sozial- und Politikwissenschaften.

Die an Text+ beteiligten Institutionen repräsentieren die meisten, wenn nicht alle relevanten Interessensgruppen, die Forschungsdaten für die Geisteswissenschaften bereitstellen: Forschungsbibliotheken, Universitäten, Datenzentren der Digital Humanities, Mitglieder der Deutschen Akademienunion und außeruniversitäre Forschungseinrichtungen der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft und der Leibniz-Gemeinschaft. Text+ umfasst außerdem führende Rechenzentren, die robuste und persistente Infrastrukturdienste für eine distribuierte Forschungsdateninfrastruktur absichern. Alle Text+-Institutionen stellen signifikante Eigenmittel zur Verfügung und dokumentieren damit ihre starke Unterstützung für Text+. Das hohe Interesse der beteiligten Fachdisziplinen wird durch die große Anzahl von Beteiligten und Unterstützern illustriert.

Die Lenkungsstruktur (engl. governance) von Text+ unterstützt die gemeinsame Verantwortung und die Konsensbildungsprozesse zwischen Infrastrukturanbietenden und -nutzenden sowie Kooperationen über Disziplinengrenzen hinweg. Im Zentrum dieser Lenkungsstruktur stehen drei wissenschaftliche Koordinationskomitees und ein Infrastrukturbetriebskomitee. Diese Komitees haben die Aufgabe, das Text+-Portfolio an Daten, Werkzeugen und Diensten kontinuierlich zu evaluieren und seine Weiterentwicklung im Einklang mit den Prioritäten der beteiligten Fachdisziplinen voranzutreiben.

Call for User Stories

Sammlung konkreter Bedarfe aus der Text+-Community

Text+ wurde in der ersten NFDI-Antragsrunde nicht berücksichtigt, doch wir führen mit einer überarbeiteten Einreichung in der zweiten Antragsrunde unser Engagement zum Aufbau einer Text- und Sprachdaten ausgerichteten Forschungsdateninfrastruktur fort. Als Maßnahme zur weiteren Integration des Nutzendenbedarfs bitten wir Sie um Ihre Unterstützung und laden Sie ein, die angebotenen Services und Daten innerhalb von Text+ mitzugestalten.

Die Templates für die User Stories können Sie als PDF und in der bearbeitbaren Word-Version in deutscher und englischer Sprache über unsere Webseite abrufen (englisch bevorzugt).

Mit diesem Call wollen wir möglichst die gesamte Bandbreite der beteiligten Disziplinen, Datendomänen und Forschungsfragen erfassen. Genauere Angaben zu Inhalt und Abgabe der User Story erhalten Sie im Template. Sie können die Vorlagen gerne mehrfach ausfüllen und eine oder mehrere User Stories einreichen. Antworten werden bis zum 16. August 2020 erbeten. Nach Erhalt werden die Einreichungen durch uns ausgewertet und einzeln oder als zusammengefasstes Ergebnis auf dieser Webseite veröffentlicht. Wir freuen uns, wenn wir Ihren Namen zur jeweiligen User Story nennen dürfen. Sie können aber selbstverständlich auch anonymisierte Angaben machen. Für Fragen zu den User Stories steht Ihnen das Team des Text+-Office unter office@text-plus.org gerne zur Verfügung.